NIHR Senior Investigators

The following NIHR Cambridge Biomedical Research Centre Professors have been announced as NIHR Senior Investigators.

Members of this award are among the most prominent and prestigious researchers funded by the NIHR and the most outstanding leaders of patient and people-based research within the NIHR research community. 

Collectively, Senior Investigators constitute the NIHR College of Senior Investigators, and are members of the NIHR Academy. 

Find out more information about NIHR Senior Investigators and how you can apply.

NIHR Senior Investigators 2022

Professor Emanuele Di Angelantonio,
Professor Emanuele Di Angelantonio,
Professor of Clinical Epidemiology and Donor Health
Professor Tamsin Ford,
Professor Tamsin Ford,
Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry


Name NIHR Theme
Professor Ian Wilkinson Cardiology and Cardiovascular Disease,
Professor Rebecca Fitzgerald Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Professor Martin White Public Health

New Emeritus Senior Investigators

Name NIHR Theme
Professor Edward Bullmore Mental Health and Psychiatry

Previous award-holders

Name NIHR theme Award
Professor John Bradley Transplantation Emeritus
Professor Carol Brayne Public Health – Ageing Emeritus
Professor Carlos Caldas Cancer Emeritus
Professor V Krishna Chatterjee Metabolism, endocrinology and bone Emeritus
Professor Patrick Chinnery Neuroscience Emeritus
Professor Mary Dixon-Woods Public Health – Health Care Sciences & Services Term 1
Professor John Danesh Cardiology and Cardiovascular Disease, Population, Quantitative sciences Emeritus
Professor Nita Forouhi Nutrition Term 1
Professor Fiona Gilbert Imaging Term 1
Professor Anthony Green Cancer Emeritus
Professor Peter Hutchinson Neurosciences Term 1
Professor Peter Jones Mental Health Emeritus
Professor Kay-Tee Khaw Public Health – Ageing Emeritus
Professor Jonathan Mant Cardiology and
Cardiovascular Disease
Term 2
Professor Hugh Markus Neurosciences Emeritus
Professor Theresa Marteau Mental Health Emeritus
Professor Patrick Maxwell Nephrology & Urology Emeritus
Professor David Menon Imaging Emeritus
Professor Nicholas Morrell Cardiology and
Cardiovascular Disease
Professor David Neal Cancer Emeritus
Professor Michael Nicholson Transplantation Term 1
Professor John O’Brien Dementia Emeritus
Professor Sir Stephen O’Rahilly Metabolism, endocrinology and bone Emeritus
Professor Willem Ouwehand Haematology Emeritus
Professor Martin Roland Health Policy & Services Emeritus
Professor Nick Wareham Epidemiology, Nutrition Emeritus
Professor Martin White Public Health – Preventive Medicine Term 1
About the awards

The award is for 4 years on the recommendation of an independent Selection Committee. Senior Investigators can reapply for a second award on completion of the first award, with a maximum of two awards permitted totalling no more than 8 years.

After two awards, Senior Investigators will be awarded the Emeritus Senior Investigator status.

Discover more about the NIHR Cambridge BRC

Contact us by phone, email or web for more information.

Events Calendar

Listing relevant events and training sessions for researchers and members of the public.