Contact details

Theme lead: Professor Ken Smith

Professor Ken Smith, NIHR Cambridge BRC Theme Lead for Inflammation, infection and immunotherapeutics

Ken Smith is Professor of Medicine and Head of the Department of Medicine at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom. His laboratory studies basic immunological mechanisms and how defects in regulatory control of the immune system can lead to autoimmunity and alter defence against infection. The lab also runs a translational program in autoimmune disease (particularly SLE, vasculitis and IBD) and has led to the discovery of a prognosis-predicting biomarker entering clinical trials and the identification of new pathways driving disease outcomes in autoimmunity and infection. By integrating human and animal studies and using state-of-the-art bioinformatic methodology, the laboratory can explore immunological mechanisms that are relevant to human disease, and to translate these results into applications of direct benefit to patients.

Ken trained in nephrology and clinical immunology with an interest in autoimmune disease at the University of Melbourne, Australia. His PhD at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute examined aspects of B cell immunology. He moved to Cambridge in 1996.

He was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2006, and he was awarded the Lister Institute Research Prize in 2007 and the Distinguished Investigator Award of the Lupus Research Institute in 2013.

Theme lead contact


Name Job title Email address
Allan Bradley FRS Senior Group Leader and Director Emeritus at the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
David Jayne NIHR Senior Investigator
Arthur Kaser Theme lead for Gastrointestinal Disease
James Lee Wellcome Trust Intermediate Fellow
Paul Lehner Professor Immunology, Honorary Consultant
Andrew Lever Academic lead for Infectious disease, BRC CHERUB collaborator
Nicholas Matheson Lecturer in Transfusion and Transplant Virology
Eoin McKinney Wellcome –Beit Intermediate Fellow
Michael Murphy MRC-MBU Programme lead
Chris Wallace Wellcome Senior Fellow
Paul Lyons Principal Research Associate
Anna Petrunkina Harrison Director of Operations and Principal Scientist, Phenotyping Hub
Christoph Hess Professor of Experimental Medicine
James Nathan Wellcome Senior Clinical Research Fellow
Mark Wills Principle Research Associate
Sylvia Richardson Director of the MRC Biostatistics Unit and Senior Research Fellow